Ganges River excitement

I had a wonderful trip yesterday to Utrail. It is where Dr. Choudhury’s family has a vacation home. We took a two hour ferry ride to get there and then another boat ride later in the day. Seeing village life along the river was so beautiful.

I really love Bangladesh and its beauty. I am sure you can tell that from my posts. I do have to post about something that happened on the way back.

We were late to the ferry, getting there around 10 p.m. The ferry was already taking off so they stopped it and there was a three foot jump from the dock to the ferry. The boys jumped it but there was no way all of the women could do it. So the driver said he was going to quickly put the ferry up to the dock and we need to go through the gate.

The problem was that it happened too fast. Dr. Ahmed, her mother in law, Beth and Lynne made it through the gate (though not easily because the ferry was picking up speed). Anna, Marianna and I were left on the dock. So we ran after the ferry and jumped over the side which was about a four foot drop onto people who were sitting. Have I mentioned that the ferry is five floors and there there about 200 people watching this happen. They were apparently yelling at the ferry to slow down.

Marianna and I looked at each other and said, “we are going to have to go over the side.” So Marianna grabbed my shoulder, I shouted “move” to people who couldn’t speak English sitting below and we jumped over the edge. Anna’s foot got caught and someone from the dock pushed her up over the wall while someone else pulled her onto the boat from the other side. A man grabbed me and pulled me and Marianna held onto my shoulder and jumped.

We were all fine and it was really funny and exciting. Considering that probably most people on the ferry had not seen many foreigners and here we are jumping onto the boat as it is speeding away, we must have looked crazy. I am sure it is on youtube somewhere!

Leave a Reply

