Tori’s first post

One week from tomorrow I board a plane to start my five-week journey to learn firsthand about Grameen Bank. I am extremely interested in Grameen’s concepts, especially micro lending to those not considered credit-worthy and Social Business (more on that in a later post).

If you haven’t had a chance to learn about Grameen, I encourage you to go to their Web site www.grameen-info.org or, even better, read Dr. Yunus’s Banker to the Poor and Building Social Business books.

There are currently Grameen Bank branches in the US in New York and Nebraska. More are planned for larger cities like San Francisco.  I was having lunch with a friend a few months ago and I explained the Grameen concept to her. I wondered if it could be applied in Cincinnati.

She shared a story with me about a woman that she knows in our city. The woman works fulltime, has two children and is married. Her husband is disabled and as a result cannot work. The family lives in poverty in a dilapidated building and struggles to not only pay their bills but put food on the table.  She works hard, goes without for her children and somehow finds the time to be active in her church to help others. 

She said that the woman has a talent (I am changing the talent just in case someone knows her) in making puppets. She often puts on shows for free at community groups, or for very little money.  She wishes that she had more money to buy better supplies to make better puppets and build a stage for them. If she did, she believes she could start a business and do well.

This woman is an example of someone in Cincinnati who could use a small loan.

I think about myself and how, while I have had some terrible jobs along the way, I have always had the opportunity to choose what I did based on my own talent and interests. I chose my major in college, I chose my career path. Why shouldn’t this woman have an opportunity to choose her career path like I did? Is it only that I started in a better financial position because of my family?

This is a concept I plan to explore and learn about while at Grameen.  Wish me luck. Until next time.

7 Responses to Tori’s first post

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. christy says:

    Tori – I’m so excited for you and I promise to be a regular on your blog! What an exciting opportunity for you – going abroad to study something so close to your heart! I will have to learn more about Grameen, so I can better understand what it is your going to be doing!

    In the meantime, I have to say – I’d love to know what type of supplies this talented lady needs. Who knows – through this type of networking, she may find some help along the way. I often have people offer to donate some unique items to the WOW program, and I could stumble across something that could help her! Take care and best of luck to you! “ Christy

    • vlames says:

      Christy-Thanks for the post. Luckily, my friend is helping this woman. I’ll let her know that there are other resources available. Thanks for reading!

  3. Anne Combs says:

    Hi Tori, thanks for sharing this and offering me the opoprtunity to blog. I am a newborn and need to learn to do it and what better way than to hear about your wonderful journey. Anne

  4. Melissa Moon says:

    Hope you have a great time Tori! Looking forward to following your travels via this Blog.

Leave a Reply

